I just received an e-mail, purportedly from service@paypal.com, that is almost certainly fraudulent. Here is the message, for anyone who’s curious (I had to change some of the carrots to brackets to prevent hiccups with MoveableType):
Return-Path:
Received: from [66.150.163.153] (HELO b1) by spamarrest.com (CommuniGate Pro SMTP 4.0.3) with ESMTP id 8635663 for jzader; Tue, 24 Jun 2003 13:38:20 -0700
Return-Path: [service@paypal.com]
Delivered-To: zaderc-joshua@zader.com
Received: (qmail 8363 invoked from network); 24 Jun 2003 20:20:02 -0000
Received: from unknown (HELO ns1.networkshosting.com) (66.96.128.2) by www11.fatcow.com with SMTP; 24 Jun 2003 20:20:02 -0000
Received: (qmail 24804 invoked from network); 24 Jun 2003 20:21:39 -0000
Received: from unknown (HELO paypal.com) (202.103.246.237) by ns1.fatcow.com with SMTP; 24 Jun 2003 20:21:39 -0000
Date: Wed, 25 Jun 2003 04:22:48 +0000
From: Service [service@paypal.com]
Subject: PayPal Account Security Measures [#35742580]
To: Joshua [joshua@zader.com]
References: [F52CLDJA0CLCE339@zader.com]
In-Reply-To: [F52CLDJA0CLCE339@zader.com]
Message-ID: [9L90D016BD6EEHK6@paypal.com]
Reply-To: Service [service@paypal.com]
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/html
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 8bit[PayPal Logo]
Security Measures
Dear Paypal Member.We are currently performing regular maintenance of our security measures. Your account has been randomly selected for this maintenance, and you will now be taken through a series of identity verification pages.
Their command of English punctuation is a bit off, but hey….
The linked page asks for your social security number and credit card information. And it looks an awful lot like PayPal, doesn’t it? Except for the domain name (or lack thereof). It’s an IP address that doesn’t point to PayPal, but instead to this address at King Mongkut’s University of Technology Thonburi in Thailand.
I’ve reported the attempted fraud to PayPal. Hopefully no-one will be sucked in by this scam.